The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Field's conclusion about the Tertian village using his observation-centered approach is invalid as compared to the interview-centered approach of the graduate students team of Dr. Karp. Dr. Karp has come to this conclusion after seeing the result of the recently conducted interview of the children from various islands including Tertia. However, the conclusion relies on various assumptions by Dr. Karp.

Firstly, Dr. Karp assumes that the children who were talking only about their biological parents are not reared by the entire village. This assumption is erratic on various aspects as Dr. Karp presumes that the question in the interview were of a diverse range but in reality they were all falling in a single category. There could be a possibility the children were talking about the biological parents as all the questions asked to them were concerned to them. If this argument holds water then Dr. Karp's argument is unwarranted.

Secondly, Dr. Karp's assumes that the interview-centered approach that his team of graduate team is currently using will be accurate in understanding the culture of the island. There could be a possibility that the interviewee does not reveal what the reality and given very spurious answers. The other outcome of the approach could be that all the people in the village don't want to reveal their culture to the world so the all the children will be trying to deceit the interviewer, which in turn will produce anomalous results and will put the interview-centered approach down the drain. If this argument hold merit then Dr. Karp's conclusions are conjectural.

Finally, Dr. Karp assumes there could not have been any changes in the culture of the island even after twenty years. The people in Tertia would have been evolving from the last twenty years, so the cultures that seemed conspicious in the people twenty years ago could have be eroded. There could have been a possibility that the people were tired of the researchers trying to understand their cultures and averred the constant pestering by them so started to act differently in front of them.

In conclusion, the above argument as it stands now is flawed. If Dr. Karp could provide more evidence that could support his conclusion that would help his case that the interview centered approach is valid and provides impecchable results.