First step towards self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Relating a concept to something familiar has always been a way of gaining knowledge. It always helps an individual to relate to something that is not unprecedented and thus that concept is more lucid for the individual. The prompt states that rejection of familiar is the first step towards self knowledge. I mostly agree with the statement as familiarity always impedes the learning process for the following two reasons.

Firstly, having familiarity always corrupts one's thought while learning something new as they constantly try to compare it with what they have encountered previously. For example, if you have played a game previously then you tend to have some reminiscence of the game but after a long time when you try to play it again, it strikes you as very absurd because you don't remember the rules, the logic, the motive or the aspect of the game anymore. But as you are understanding the game again with someone teaching and you start to remember the bits and pieces of the game and you start comparing it and start questioning the method because someone has a different methon. The famous example can be of the card game UNO, the biggest confusion everyone faces is that does a draw two goes on draw four, some argue it does as the way they have played it for the first time the group followed a different set of rules. This utterly relates and corroborate that one should reject familiarity as a first step to self knowledge.

Secondly, when studying a subject if two theories tend to overlap each other we naturally try to co-relate the theories, even if in reality both of them don't go with each other. For example, while learning about a programming language the learner always tend to compare it with the programming language he or she has learned earlier. They tend to find familiarity in the syntax, the libraries, the variables and much more. Due to this while creating a project the programmer has to constantly check the syntax because, while learning they tried to compare it and in that process they missed the real essence of the learning the new language. This highly correlates with the statement as one has predilection towards familiar things and in that they miss to understand the real use while learning it.

Ofcourse, some argue that having familiarity to certain thing helps to understand a few the things better. However, this is precisely why we should not have any familiar knowledge to a certain subjects as it obstructs out critical thinking process and puts us in a comparision stage rather than an elucidating state. We are likely to understand things better when we see them we