The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that changing the news timings have had an effect on their viewers and their advertising revenues. This arguement is fallacious and relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that the local business that use to advertise during their late night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts due to the change in the time of the national news. But an indept analysis of this statement reveals that the author's assumptions is totally irrevelant. The author presumes the reason for the cancellation of the contracts is the change in time of the local news which in case is not true as the local businesses have cancelled the contracts due to their investment in some other marketing aspect. If this is true that the author's arguement doesn't hold water.

In addition, the author assumes that to not further lose any advertising revenues they should restore the previous arrangements. In fact, the writer does not mentions if there were any national businesses that were in talks with them for the advertising of their company with in turn would have generated more revenue for the television station as it would be a national company. The arguement would have strengthened considerably if the author would have given the current advertising status information.

Finally, the author assumes that the national news doesn't cover most of the local news. The author provides no evidence, though to indicate that this is the case. As the arguement stands it is highly possible that the national news covers all the local news. Only if the author provides evidence that the national news doesn't contain any information about the local news and the weather forecast then the arguement does hold good.

In conclusion, this arguement depends on certain simplified assumption about the national news, the advertising revenues and the local businesses. The author could strengthen the arguement by discussing other factors like the statistics of the veiwers before and after the change in the program before concluding that the change has led to the decrease veiwers of the program.