The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has

spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs

in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those

in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve

schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect

excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far

greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The mayor of Clearview has shown great concern about the development of Clearview by advertising that the city is a plum for retirement. While the mayor’s intention might be genuine, the argument does not prove this to be the case. The argument, which was based on vague terms, unjustified analogy and contingency of ulterior motive, is vitiated by these blemishes.

To start with, while citing the city’s possession of spectacular beauty and consistent clime, the mayor assumes these features will gain people’s predilection. However, the mayor, who has given ambiguous explication of these feautures, has proved to shady. This is because we do not know the exact ilk of aesthetics he is talking about. Is it sloppy landscape? Or grassy area? Perhaps, he is talking about proximity to rocks and mountains, which might be scary to some senior citizens. Hence, the argument will be greatly ameliorated when the mayor expounds his equivocal terms.

Also, while quoting the decline in housing cost and steady low tax rate, the mayor suggest that everyone would be able to afford living in the city. Again, we do not how significant these costs have declined. It might be from a price of 200,000 dollars to 150,000 dollars, which might still be high for the hoi polloi to afford. Moreover, the tax rate, which has been touted to be lower than that of neighbouring cities might not be the lowest around. Thus, for the argument to be validated, the mayor need to present the rate at which the housing costs has declined and city’s tax rate. With these, more potential residence will be able to determine their capacity of residing in the city.

Lastly, while relying on the availability of myriads of physicians, the mayor implies that this will lead to excellent health care. This might not be the case. The physicians, whom we do not know if they work in Clearview or neighbouring city, might not have any correlation with the fitness of the city’ health system. Besides, the city might not even be in possession of quality facility to aid these physicians. Therefore, without the mayor showing other factors that makes up a great health care system, the advertisement might likely wade people off Clearview.

In conclusion, the mayor of Clearview has shown his altruism towards the growth of Clearview by depicting the city as a great place of retirement for the supererogatory denizens. While he might seem to have great intents, the grounds which he had based his argument all serve to undermine his argument. Thus, without the mayor improving this argument, he might likely thwart the interest of people in Clearview.