The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that Dura-sock should halt the use of Endure manufacturing process makes a number of unwarranted assumptions that needs to be examined. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the argument fails to show any correlation between the frequent advert of Endure process and the customers’ purchase of dura-socks every three months. The company advertises the use of a process and not a product and expects the product sales to increase. This is flawed because the advert is directed towards the process and not the product. Thus, the author needs to check if the products are advertised alongside the process. if the product are advertised with the the process, the claim that the process should be discontinued is valid.

Secondly, the argument assumes because customers purchase socks every three months, the socks are not durable. Nothing in the argument shows what the customers use the socks for. The average customers might be retailers that resells the socks to final consumers. Also, the average customers might be athletes that uses the socks on a regular basis, thereby leading to the rapid wear and tear of the socks. Thus, the author needs to check why the customers buy socks every three months. If it is seen that the socks worn out easily without regular use, then the claim that the manufacturing process should be discontinued is valid.

Lastly, the argument fails to show how the survey in northeastern United States cities was carried out. Nothing in the argument descibes the bases of the survey. How many customers were surveyed? At what period of the year were the customers surveyed. To adopt the result of this survey, the author needs to check this fact. Unless this enquiries are answered, the result of the survey remains invalid.

In conclusion, the argument that Dura-sock should halt the use of Endure manufacturing process makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously weaken its validity. Unless these unwarranted assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, the company might be making a major mistake by doing eliminating Endure manufacturing process.