The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that business should higher people who need less than six hours of sleep per night makes a number of unstated assumptions regarding hiring people with less than six hours sleep leading to higher profit margins and faster growth. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions renders the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold, the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the argument failed to show correlation between executives sleeping hours per night, and higher profit and faster growth. This renders the argument susceptible as no connection was shown between executives sleeping time and business growth. The author needs to ask how sleeping time of the executives relates to business growth. The author also needs to ask if the executives have other programs that keeps the firm running while they sleep, thereby leading to higher profit margin and faster growth. If it is shown that the executives have other planned programs running while they sleep, then the argument will be rendered valid.

Secondly, the argument assumes executives who need less than six hours of sleep per night work towards the company’s increased in profit margin and faster growth. This is a flawed assumptions that requires the author to question its validity. The author needs to question what the management who needs less than six hours sleep per night do with the remaining hours they are awake. Are they working towards the company’s growth or they are engaged in other business of theirs? If it cannot be ascertained that this executives spend the remaning night rest time working for the company, then argument is rendered invalid.

Further, another leap in the argument is that the argument fails to show how the study was carried out. This weakens the argument and can be strengthened by asking for the specific number of males and females advertising executives that were surveyed. The author needs to question the amount of people that responded to the survey. For this argument to be strengthened, the author needs to question if survey was carried on larger scale. If it was found out that the survey was also done on a larger scale and it yielded the same result as that of the present scale, then the argument will be valid.

In conclusion, the argument that hiring people who need less than six hours sleep per night will lead to increase a firm’s success makes numerous unwarranted assumptions that seriously impairs its validity. Unless these unstated assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, business might be making a major mistake by hiring people who sleeps less than six hours per night.