The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the cheese store should discontinue stocking many varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses makes numerous unwarranted assumptions regarding assuming discontinuing stocking imported cheese is the best method to improve profit, ignoring how and where the survey was conducted and assuming last year’s sales will be the same as this year’s sales. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these assumptions are not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The first leap in the argument is the assumption that the best way to increase profit is by discontinuing stocking several varieties of imported cheese and concentrating on domestic cheeses. This is flawed because nothing in the argument shows any connection between profit increment and stocking of foreign cheese. Foreign cheese might be mostly preferred in the store’s location. Halting the stocking of foreign cheese might be deleterious to the store. Thus, for the argument to be valid, the author needs to check if stopping the stock of imported cheese will affect the profit. If there are evidences that the stock’s profit would be affected by the imported cheese cessation, then the argument is valid.

Another leap in the argument is the author assuming because a recent survey indicated an icreasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers, the stock should stop stocking imported cheese. The author fails to check the bases of the survey. How was the survey carried out? There is no indication in the argument that part of the survey was carried out in the store’s location. Furthermore, the argument failed to show the exact time the survey was carried out. Thus, the author needs to check the location that was surveyed. The author also need to check how the survey was carried out, the bases upon which the survey was conducted. Until these evidences are provided, stopping the stock of foreign cheese might be a parlous act.

Additionally, the author assumes because last year’s best selling cheese were domestic cheese, there should be cessation of foreign cheese stock. This argument is flawed because it assumes what happened last year will happen this year. Last year’s increase in domestic cheese sales might be as a result of festival or some activities that occurred in the region last year that are yet to, or might not occur this year. Besides, for the store to witness an increase in last year’s domestic cheese sale, there was a decrease in the previous year. Thus, something must have cause the increase. Therefore, the author needs to provide evidences of the factors that led to last year increase in sale. This evidences will indicate if stocking foreign cheese this year is necessary or not.

In conclusion, the argument that halting the stock of imported cheese will bring about increase in profit for the store makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermines the argument’s validity. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions are not addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, the store might be making a major mistake by discontinuing the stock of foreign cheese.