The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

An article in a business magazine stated that employees who need six hours or less than that per night should be hired to increase profit margins and efficiency. it is stated that those executives who sleep less than six hours growth is faster and gain high profits. However,before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the work of advertising executives from recent study comparable to the particular businesses that hire the executives? In other words, if the work done by them can't be related to their businesses the study may be not be useful or applicable to them. For example, if the work done by executives from the evidence takes more hours when compared to other firms then, it is not required to select the persons who sleep less than six hours.The persons who sleep more than six hours can also do the work of their firms. if the above scenario is true,the recommendation doesn't hold water.

Secondly, can the capacity of all the persons be same? it means the amount of work done by people varies from person to person. some may complete the work in less than average time and some may possibly take more time. it may not depend on the number of hours they sleep but the capacity of the person who does amount of required work in stipulated time. it also depends on the work that is performed. The work from evidence may be different from firms work, where the time possibly changes . if the above is true, the conclusion drawn in original argument is weakened.

Thirdly, can the efficiency of a person be related to the amount of sleep hours ?In other way, there are some people who take more amount of time to sleep and work in less hours efficiently. And there are people who sleep for few hours and take ample of time to finish the work. And also according to human tendency, if the body doesn't get enough amount of sleep they may be irritated or not in good state which results in erraneous work. due to the condition to sleep less than six hours, some may make you believe that they can sleep for six hours and it is sufficient and gives an incomplete work. due to their irritated behaviour,it may result in the company's work environment. if the above scenario comes true, it results in the weakening of the evidence.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions . if the author is able to provide more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to hire executives who sleep less than six hours by business firm.