The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the article that appeared in a business magazine, the author recommends the businesses to hire only the people who need less then six hours of sleep per night, based on the survey done in the sample of 300 male and female advertising executives. The assumptions on which the recommendation is based are weak, at best and do very little to strengthen the plausability of the recommendation. Lots of other informations or evidances are essential to justify the claim or recommendation made on the article. I would like to point out some of them.

Starting with, the author presents the sample size of 300 male and female advertising agents without properly mentioning about the exact composition of the sample. The number of male and female could be skewed which might greatly influence the result of the survey. Furthermore, the author has neglected the most important aspect of health. Maybe, most of the executives that were involved in the survey pushed themselves hard to gain the short-term goal by compromising their health in lack of sufficient sleep. If the author would mention that those executives are in sound health and show no sign of affect of lack of sleep, then that would make the claim more strong.

Furthermore, there is no mention of the duty hours or the shifts in which those advertising executives worked. Maybe, most of them had the luxury of taking a power nap in the day time to compensate their lack of sleep in night hours so that they could rip off the advantage of night shift. Also, they may be working more than the recommended working hours to yield better results. This may not be applicable for all other businesses. Thus, the evidance and facts related to the duty hours and shifts is essential to strengthen the recommendation made by the author.

Another discernable doubt in the finding of the survey is the credibility of the responses of the executives involved in the survey. How accurate are those data acquired in actual? Maybe the executives were naturally the type who slept less during night, often called as night-owls. For instance, if someone asks me how many hours I sleep, my answer would be 5-6 hours, irrespective of the productivity that I can achieve during day time. I could be watching movies or hanging out with my friends during my extra night hours instead of sleeping. So, this survey would not really make sense unless the exact nature and sleeping habit of the executives being surveyed is properly noted and analysed.

Thus, it would be very weak recommendation if it is based on only the given assumptions stated in the article. However, the claim or recommendation would be greatly strengthened if the above mentioned evidences are made available.