Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

History is one such part of our life that we can not change even if we want to, and at the same time, holds a great significance too. I agree with the stated claim that the learning of the historical past requires creativity though it is often considered an objective pursuit.

As a child, or even later in our adulthood, we generally tend to relate the history to numbers or some data. For instance, the date of birth of some emperor, or the era in which the mesopotamia civilization happened, and so on. This is just a small glimpse of the actual importance of the historical past, just like only a small portion or tip of huge iceberg is visible. History requires a great deal of creativity to join the multiple broken pieces to derive or materialize a solid evidence which is often of great significance to the ongoing or future human activities.

Starting with, I remember watching the movies like " Da Vinci Code" or " Treasure Hunt", which nicely potrayed the meticulous process in acquiring the historical data and evidences to prove or find something substantial. Though based on fiction, I found the visualization of the data hunting in these pictures very thrilling and gave me an idea how tough it can really be to extract something that was buried or disguised over thousands or millions of years. Had it been a single lapse in the sequence, the whole campaign to find a certain piece of evidence would have gone completely wayward. In many cases, it also required the protagonists to display a great deal of improvisation and creativity, because everying can not go as per the text book rules when it comes to exploration.

Also, we often hear in the news about the extraction of data from the ancient letters that are written in obscure languages. Though they look deminutive to us, they hold a great value in term of tracking back of our civilization and it requires several days, months, and even years of rigorous imaginations and interpretations to extract those informations. Most of us have seen movies and documentaries related to the dinosours and ancient ice age. We cannot even imagine the effort it takes to imagine and accurately assume the shape, size and behavoir of such gigantic animals which existed millions of years ago, based on just some fossils and residual skeletons. There are myriad of cases where the imaginations and hard work of geologists and archeologists have yielded marvellous results in the field of climate change, geology and human history.

Thus, i strongly agree that the study of historical past is not confined within the objective informations, but require a great deal of creativity and meticulous procedures to extract valuable information that help us in improving our present and future life experiences in many ways.