The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author seems very adamant in making a recommendation for families to have meals together to reduce the rate of illegal activities by adolescents in a family and also enhance their academic performance. The author bases his recommendation on the data of recently conducted survey of more than 5000 students. Had the author provided enough support for his premises, the recommendation that he made could have been considered credible. However, as it stands now, the effectiveness of the recommendation relies heavily on following two questions, which need proper answer before the plausibility of given recommendation be evaluated.

First of all, the author seems very confident regarding the correlation of family meal time with good etiquette as well as sound academics of adolescents of the family. Could there be no other factors that impact such a broad level of activities? The survey based on one-dimensional study of family meal time in relation with general behaviors of all adolescents in a whole seems very far-fetched. Maybe the overall family environment and the way childen were raised was instrumental in determining how they turned out in their adolescence period. Along with that, the factors like good guidance in school, peer influence, and various other factors could come into play, which might effect the confidence level, academic performance and deposition of an adolescent.

Moreover, the author seems to present his finding of the survey in a very figurative and non-precise approach. The author vaguely mentions that the teens who reported having most family meals per weeks were the ones who were least likely to have tried illegual drugs. How much is the most and what decides the less likely in this survey? Also, the whole validity of a survey relies heavily upon the authenticity of the collected data. How can we readers be sure that the data collected from those adolescents are accurate and not misleading. The possibility of those adolescents hiding their bad habits can not be ruled out.

To conclude, the author firmly recommends that families have as many meals together as possible. While the overall idea of families having meal together might be good in term of social harmony, its correlation with adoloescents to keep them away from bad behavior and enhance their performace seems very far-fetched. If the author were to present proper answers for above mentioned questions, his prediction regarding the positive effect of family meal time on adolescent could be deems reasonable.