The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument, the vice president of a food distribution company concludes that the company should replace the Fly-Away Pest Control Company by the previously assigned Buzzoff Pest Control Company citing a reason of high worth of food damaged in their warehouse in Palm city. The conclusion is based on several premises, which, if true, might indicate that the conclusion holds water. However, as it stands now, the conclusion relies on three unwarranted assumptions, which heavily undermine its plausibility.

First of all, the vice president assumes that the case of Fly-Away Pest Control Company in warehouse in Palm city, last month was a general case and not an exception in itself. What if the case of last month was an exception due to some external factor and probably would not repeat in coming months? There could have been some wheather condition which enhanced the pest problem in that particular month, or also the Fly-Away Pest Control Company could have had a temporary issue with its employees, which might have been solved already. In these cases, if the assumption made by the vice president is not supported with further pieces of evidence or support, the conclusion loses its credibility.

Moreover, the vice president assumes that the case of Palm City warehouse will be applicable in cases of other warehouses in several cities. What if the Fly-Away Pest Control Company is the only capable company who can supply qualified manpower in those other cities and also work under harsh condition. There is no such support provided by the author which would indicate that the case of Palm City will be easily applicable for all the cities without any hindarance. For instance, the proposed company might be a small one and not have that resource and expertise to provide service to the food distribution company in several cities. This might dent the validity of the conclusion.

Finally, the vice president assumes that the high price charged by another pest control company- Buzzoff Pest Control Company will not be an issue in a long run. Maybe the price charged by this company is too high to sustain in a long run and might not justify the saving of extra food in warehouse. The vice president must provide supporting comparative information in order to rightly assume that the higher cost of proposed company will fit well for all the warehouses. Else, the conclusion does not hold water.

To conclude, the vice president must provide further information or pieces of evidence in order to make these above mentioned unwarranted assumption valid and support his conclusion. However, as it stands now, the conclusion seems bleak and hardly plausible enough.