True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The humans are naturally one of the most creative creatures in the planet that tend to adjust themselves continuously based on various factors. The self analysis is one of the most important tools to measure where a person stands. This aligns nicely with my understanding that the person himself is nicely poised to measure his success on the basis of his standing against the goal set by himself. I mostly agree with the given prompt because of two major reasons enlisted below but, I do concede that there could be a few exceptions in case of complacency.

First of all, self analysis is one of the most important aspects of a successful person. There are a lot of strong examples of successful person who are the paragon of success, and one thing usually common in them is the capability of self-actuation. For instance, the well known businessman Elon Musk is pretty famous for his firm attitude. He admits that he himself is the most important critics and closest competitor of himself. He is an example to many who consider that the success need to be compared with others and is only possible in expense of declination of other counterparts. In contrary, humans, being the most intelligent creatures in the planet, are capable enough to set a goal for self and analyse the success based on the performance relative to the achievement of the goal.

Moreover, we can not deny the fact that a person himself is the true judge of his own capability. If not for the external influencing factors, a person in his conscious mind is always aware of how far can he go or how much he can achieve based on his capability. The will power and determination, two most important requisites of success are in the control of the person setting the goal. For instance, the most famous scientist of 20th century, Albeit Einstein was well known for his unique capability of being isolated from the general cacophonous crowd, and usually paced himself based on his own goals. He was rarely influenced by the success or fame of his counterparts and colleagues. Apparently, this attitude of knowing own capability and judging the success based on own goal never let him down.

However, it is not out of equation for a person to be over complacent with himself. Sometimes, the person tends to overestimate the success and forget what his true potential is. In this case, an external impetus or a critical perspective can play a vital role in accelerating the person in different echelon of success.

To conclude, although in some cases, a person requires external driving factor and critical direction to achieve desired success, primarily, it is the person himself who is more than capable to judge and analyse the success he achieved in respect to the goals that he defined for himself. To summarize, a person himself can be the most honest and capable judge of himself because of his own familiarization with personal trait and capability.