True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Success for an individual can be defined in many different ways and the path to achieve it can vary from person to person. The prompt recommends that true success for a particular person can be measured from the goals he sets for himself.In my opinion I mostly agree with this statement and measuring success in terms of the goals set can be true for two reasons.

To begin with, success is a term which has to be achieved over a period of long term and in order to remain consistent for a longer period of time one has to set a goal for oneself to follow in each phase of time. For instance, a college graduate in order to have a successful life ahead has to plan his goals right from the time he graduates and create short term goals which would eventually help him to achieve his long term success. Having a proper goal will not only pave a way to success but will also help oneself to stay focused for every step in the journey.The above example clearly gives us an idea about how setting goals beforehand can help us remain consistent which would lead us to become a successful person.

Further, planning goals will help an individual to stay away from the distractions one might get along the way.Goals helps oneself to prioritize things which are necessary and ignore the ones which would cause delay in achieving success.Without a goal one might get influenced easily with the activities which would reduce one’s capability to work towards achieving what one has planned.For instance, for a startup to be successful one has to plan and align proper short term goals which would help them to climb the stairs towards success in a subtle way. Without a proper goal, the team working on it can get away due to distractions which occur on the way and this can cause a deviation from the long term goal which would eventually lead to failure of the startup.The above example helps one to understand about how goals can lead one self in achieving a true success.

However, always having a goal defined beforehand might also be disadvantageous for some and can vary from situation to situation as everyone has to go through different circumstances to achieve one’s goal.For instance, the big giant today amazon has its businesses in multiple sectors be it online deliveries , retail stores and online streaming services.If Jeff Bezos could have started with a plan beforehand for setting up multiple businesses in future , his business probably wouldn't have had achieved this commendable success due to the burden of many things such as finances or workforce.He started with a book store which eventually helped him to pave way for his further businesses and also helped him to align with the ever changing technology which helped him to remain in the ever changing market. The above instance proves us that sometimes not having long term goals can also help oneself to achieve success.

It is true that having goals defined before will surely have a safe plan for oneself’s future .Most of them might also say that without a proper goal in hand one can just be confused and can mess up their life with improper decisions that come along their way. But as we say, every decision has its own pros and cons.Sometimes, people without a goal who just go with the flow of the time which is passing by might get successful with proper people around them. We can say that circumstances for each individual vary a lot where people surrounded with good guidance around them can also achieve success without a proper goal defined before.