True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everybody wants to become successful in their lives. Although the degree can be somewhat different, each person has their own goals aiming to achieve. I mostly agree with the statement that true success can be measured primarily by the goals each sets for themselves. I will support my viewpoint with two reasons.

First of all, even if such success is achieved in the perspective of others, one self might not feel success on their own. By the common view of the public, success are usually things that are shown conspicuously, such as fame, wealth, and power. Albeit gaining such materials or popularity, if you hear the inner voices of those people, many of them are not satisfied or complacent. For instance, famous and numerous award winning actor, Jim Carrey said in his interview that he want as many of other normal people to become as successful as he is by gaining wealth, and popularity. After earning such fame and wealth, he mentions of feeling voidness and wonders the true meaningful things in life. He alludes that these concepts which seems to be important things for success to others is not what is truly meaningful to him and does not define success. This suggests that one can know if one reached true success only be oneself.

Second of all, the standards of defining a true success is difficult except one self who can define their own success. As there are many different types of people in the world, each of these have their own goals and objectives in their lives. For example, one can focus their life on becoming successful in their career such as becoming a C.E.O and getting huge payrolls. However, there are also other people who wants to spend more of their time with their family. They want to have happy time with their kids and see how they grow up. To the latter person, will the hardworking, powerful executive of a company seem to be a successful person? Most likely not. Success is a vague, undefine ed concept which differs to each individual. Therefore, true success can be only recognized on their own.

To conclude, there are many common factors which is used to evaluate success like popularity and someone’s houses, cars, or outfits. However, I still believe that those can not be used to validate one’s true success. Success can be truly defined by oneself and deciding whether one achieved it can not be delegated to others but is left to the sole person oneself.