Movies tell a lot about a country

Some people argue that movies are not conducive to understanding about a nation. These people more or less purport to the idea that movies are based on fictional, artificial background and has limitation in intimating a country. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree to these people and believe that movies have lots of things to tell us about a country. I will support my viewpoint with following two reasons.

First of all, a movie can describe the culture of the country which the movie is based on. To illustrate, by observing the background scenes of a movie, many things can be found out. The people’s lifestyles and their circumscribing environment are shown either implicitly or explicitly. For instance, if a person watches Korean movies, one can probably find out that guns are not allowed in Korea because it is prohibited to possess arms there. Also, viewers can observe the Korean citizens living style, which is usually living in a small apartment which is a part of a tall building. Because of the high population compared to a small territory, many Koreans live in overly dense occupied cities consisted of tall concrete buildings. Thus, viewers can learn a country’s cultural aspects when watching a movie.

Second of all, since many movies’ thesis are made of famous, meaningful events in the past, these can explain a nation’s history as well. For instance, Korea was ruled under Japan for few decades in the early 1900s and separated into two parts, South and North after the Korean war. Because of this, there are many films related to these events and historic backgrounds. Some depicts the difficulties of such times, while others delineate the normal life such as romance between couples even in such harsh times. In some cases, the plot itself is regarding a historic event which had significant meaning on the history like assassination of Korean queen by the Japanese or movement of independence against the Japan. No matter what its contents are based on or what genre it is, movies explicitly or implicitly deliver information about the nation’s past.

To conclude, it is an interesting question that whether movies tell us a lot about a country or it does not. Some says as movie being a fictionally created piece of art, it does not tell us real information about a country. However, I still believe that movies can tell us a lot about a country’s constituents and their culture as well as historic information about their nation.