Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In some positions its terms are fixed and followes through a rigrous standard. As when terms of existing one end, a new one substitutes its predecessor. This can be usually be witnessed in governmental institution's leader position. The claim says that those in power, whether it is in business, policitcs, education, or government, should step down after 5 years because such revitailzes the group by new leadership. However, I mostly disagree with the claim for following two reasons.

There is a proverb saying "you can't be full in the first bite" in Korea. Eventually there are low chance that an individual who first begins his task or work is an expert on it. By ploddingly developing their skills through numerous experiences, such a verdant becomes a professional at the field. Waiting for the person to get used to his or her position is indeed, requisite for evaluating his or her leadership and powers. Perhaps, this might be the reason why the United States oftenly re-elects their president after the first 5 years. The consequence of this eventually shows that on their second regimacy, the government drives a more confident policy and decision making.

Although the claim suggests that in any field the leader should let go of their power, this can be very varied regarding to which field it is. For example, in the acadmic field, most subjects are studied very intensively and rigorously to the very deep, kernel aspects of the topic by a life-long studying or researching of professors. Indeed these professors devote most of their lives in studying and becoming a guru or savant of his or her academic field. Leadership changes for example, relegating a renown professor to become a prowess-less standard researcher can be a huge loss to that academic field's members.

Nevertheless, there can be a specific field where regular, periodic changes of power can be beneficial. As the prompt gives for the claim's reason, revitalizing power of an enterprise can be helpful. Because of everyday precipitously changing society we live on, new ideas from a new person can be a huge benefit to leading a big, heavy company.

Yet, the strengths of revitalizing leadership only seems to be justifiable to certain narrow areas. Overall, continous leadership for decent amount of time is required for its subjects to be better leaded, and there are many fields where changes of leaderships is not viable at all like scholarship. For these reasons I disagree that every field should utilize a leadership change to revitalize.