Question Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Television advertising directed toward young children aged two to five should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people advocate targeting young children for TV commercials has no problems. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree to them and believe that placing television ads for young kids should be disallowed. I will support my viewpoint why TV ads on young children can be injurious for the following two reasons.

First of all, young children in ages between two to five does not have a concept of economy such as, spending money on commercial goods or recognizing the reasonable price for certain products. Ignorance of such economic concepts brings about harmful burden for their parents. For example, there were many cases where children who were seduced by a mobile game ad and purchased in-app game items without understanding its prices. The problem is more severe because most of the times, children did not place it once but rather, placed it numerous times causing huge amount of money accumulated by small purchases. Thus, setting a bar in order to prevent children from falling into such entices is important.

Secondly, children being in a stage under development mentally, should be protected by not disturbing their focus. For instance, young children tend to watch contents for kids like animations regarding education or toys. While they are focusing on a certain episode, exhibiting an ad in the middle can be distracting which makes their focus alter to the ad from the original content. Despite adults being able to keep focus on the precedent task even when new tasks pop up, kids are more likable to be sidetracked. This tendency can overall be detrimental and deleterious to kid’s development of focusing on things which is an indispensable skill, necessary for their future lives. This is especially important because, kid’s brains are developing and if they miss this period it is harder for them to acquire such skills at later time of their life. To obviate such from happening, tv ads towards children should be limited.

To conclude, the issue of whether acceptability about targeting television ads on young children is complex. Some people have suggested that placing television ads toward children has no problems and should be allowed. Nevertheless, I still contend to the idea that targeting TV ads to children should be prohibited. Children should understand about economical concepts first and also, they should be protected in order to guarantee their psychological development.