The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr.Karp, anthropologist, claims that the former study of the island, Tertia and its village culture is invalid and his study is more accurate. He asserts that his invterview-based study has shown different understanding with the former perspective, Dr.Fields', of the village people which was that the entire village reared childeren without letting only the biological parents breed their child. In order for Dr.Karp's argument to hold water, their are some void, unanswered evidences to be filled.

Firstly, Dr.Karp tries to find out the island's cultures with comparing two chronologically -different study. Dr.Field's observation-based research was conducted twenty years ago, which might have been sufficient amount of time to let the island's culture to be changed. To deprecate and invalidate Dr.Field's study, Dr.Karp has to offer an evidence that the tradition of the island has not changed hitherto. In some chance, if this proves to be unwarranted, his arguement's power loses validation.

Although, Dr.Karp conducted an interview-based research he does not present informations and details on regarding the interview. His selection of respondents were children. There could be more justability endorsed if he choose some elder residents and adults who actually rear children.

Moreover, he tries to debunk Dr.Field's research which is about who are rearing kids, but Dr.Karp investigated on the interview which merely says children likes to spend much more time talking about their biological parents. This does not prove that the answerers are raised by biological parents. The children, indeed, might just like to talk to their biological parents more than other adults. To justifiy his claim, there should be other evidences like children responding that they spend more time with their biological parents overall, for example, for eating, sleeping and playing as well rather than just talking.

Lastly, Dr.Karp states that observation-centered approach to studying cultures are invaild. Even if, Dr.Karps's study and perspective of the island's culture is verified, and Dr.Field was wrong on his observations, this could not prove that general observation-centered approach to study cultures are fallacious. There can be other well-conducted, corroborated observation-study on figuring out resident's cultures in certain areas. If Dr.Karp wants to maintain this claim, he should prove that there are some kind of fallacy in observation based method in generall.

Therefore, Dr.Karp's suggestion is left with some assumptions to be clarified before his argument being justified. He should concern the chronological difference in his and Dr.Field's study. Moreover, he can strengthen his argument by manifesting more details about his interview. Also, his conclustion seems to be logically jumped from his presented evidences.