Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Colleges and universities offer a plethora of subjects and courses. Because of this, some students might have difficulties in making choices and become overwhelmed. The claim argues that colleges should specify all required courses and elimnate elctive courses in order to provide clear guidance for students. Yet, I mostly disagree to the suggestion of removing elective courses for the following couple of reasons.

Firstly, the argue bases on the reason that most people in general prefer to follow directions rather than making their own decisions. Indeed, there are many people who likes to be guided clearly and specifically of their directions. Still, there are numerous people if not a few, who likes to utilize their freedom and choose their options on their own. Most importantly, there are students entering university or college who's willing to study or participate in classes of unfamiliar subjects which they have been waiting for hitherto. Because, until highschool, most of school curriculums were fixed and oppertunity to choose their own path were highly limited to only following on certain paths. Former Apper founder and CEO, Steve Jobs, was not interested in his major and curriculum so he choose to enroll in a typography elective course. This famous past choice of his became so famous after, when he released a beautiful typography ingrained computer operating system which differentiated with other computer comanies by the means of Kansei(human soul touching) or user experience.

Every student has their major when they enter college or university. They have to focus on the major-related subjects. Yet, they should have the rights and at least few amounts of time on studying fields which they do not purse for living as well. For example, nowadays, students who do not major in science or math are choosing computer sciences subject for their electives very popularaly. Because of the skyrocketing interest in IT(Information Technology), computer science subjects like devloping, programming languages has high enrollment rate for many different major students, not for just literature studying students but also physical education majoring student as well, and etc.

Truely, for some students they might want a clear, indicative curriculum on each semester on what classes to enroll and simply there are students who does not have enough time to pursue other subjects which does not belong to their major because their major is such difficult or time-consuming. However for abovementioned reasons, I mostly disagree to the claim and electives should not be eliminated. Rather, colleges and universities should offer more competitive and versatile elective courses for the students' future.