Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people believe that educators should only teach facts after students have studied its regarding ideas and concepts beforehand. They think that it is more efficient to study on their own before getting lectures. However, I mostly disagree to these peoples’ idea and think that educators should first teach their students about the background knowledge about the fact for three reasons.

First of all, ideas, concepts, why and how such things were developed are more important than a mere fact about a subject. Indeed, it is easier to simply memorize facts about something than completely understanding its surrounding background knowledge. For instance, when one study history, it is comparatively easy to remember the events’ occurred year. A student can remember that the World War 2 began in 1939 but knowing the covered details about the tensions going between countries is another matter. It is hard to study those by abridged textbooks, but the teachers can explain the details and background knowledge which he or she knows. Facts can be studied alone without help of educators, but the purpose of educators is to teach students about its surrounding comprehensive knowledge.

Second of all, it is more efficient to be taught by the teacher than to study something alone. For instance, even for a subject which requires logical thinking rather than memorization, mathematics, needs demonstration and explanation of proofs and practice problems for a student to fully understand certain theorem(fact) or concept. A student trying to figure out a proof from bottom has to spend a vast amount of time which can be an obstacle in progressing. If the student has other subjects to study, and he or she is not majored in math, then it would be a waste of time to follow those practices alone. Therefore, teachers’ explanation of examples before the student tries to solve practice problems can be more efficient and productive.

Third of all, a student can have fixated a misunderstanding of an idea and concept if one studies alone. This can be problematic when they are being taught after having some wrong conception because it is difficult to change the existing understanding of a subject. Furthermore, students can have stereotypes which can alter an understanding of teacher’s explanation.

To conclude, it is difficult to decide whether students should study ideas, trends and concepts first before being taught or study the way other. Some argue that studying alone beforehand can help the understanding and increase the efficiency. However, I still believe that educators should first explain about the knowledge and then students study about it because it is more beneficent by making students to acquire a better understanding of a knowledge and be more efficient.