Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people suggest that a well-created relationship between teacher and student is the most important ability for a teacher. They argue that teachers must have a good relationship in order to do their job well. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree to these people and believe that delivering an excellent knowledge of the subject is more important. I will delineate my viewpoint based on following two reasons.

First of all, students value the contents and how much they can learn about a subject through a class the most. For example, students and their parents look for teachers who are famous for teaching subjects very fluently rather than teachers who can relate well to their students. There can be some students who prioritize the teacher’s characteristics and ability to communicate with students. Nevertheless, a recent study conducted by Seoul National University says that students put the professor’s knowledge and the class content on the top priority when evaluating their professors through assessment surveys compared to their relationship factors such as friendliness or communication skills. Thus, it is reasonable to claim that excellent knowledge comes before the communication skills.

Second of all, because of constrained time between teachers and students, questions on if making a well relationship between them are viable rises. For example, students spend limited time on their classes in a day. Time might be not sufficient enough for the children to create a well-made rapport between teachers. Some suggest that in order to deliver the contents efficiently a good relationship is required. However, although an efficient delivery can be helpful on communication, students might not have enough time to create a nice relationship with their teachers. Especially when students are looking forward to taking an important exam such as university entering exam, students are chased and stressed by limited time. They have to cover the materials and contents of the exam first, saving time for good relationship with teachers later. Thus, to respect the students as an important entity for a class and save their time, delivering excellent knowledge seems to be more important.

To conclude, deciding which ability is more important in between relating well with students and teaching excellent knowledge can be complex. Some might argue that teachers need great relationship with students. Nevertheless, I still contend to the idea that excellent knowledge should be prioritized over these skills considering the fact that students prioritize the classes’ content first and student’s limited time on classes.