The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market — northeastern United States cities — say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dura-Socks’ vice president argues that a certain manufacturing process should be stopped to increase the profit of the company. VP suggests that because of the short period of customers buying their socks and customers’ answers of a survey providing that they value styles and colors over other characteristics. However, in order for his or her recommendation to hold water, there are several questions which must be answered.

First of all, does customers buying new socks on relatively short period amount of time (3 months on average) mean that they don’t need durable socks which can stand for two years? If Dura-socks does not last long, will customers re-purchase those in such a short period of time? It is more reasonable to say that customers re-purchased Dura-Socks because they were satisfied with its quality. On the other hand, if Dura-Socks lasted for only 3 months, customers would be more likely to not buy it again after three months and try other socks. In order to justify the author’s argument, there should be more data on how customers would behave when the socks’ durability decreases.

Second of all, what were the other options which customers could choose on what they value the most? How was those options accumulated results? For instance, Dura-Socks’ durability simply might not have been in as one of the options to choose from, eventually leading to an inaccurate survey. Another possible survey result is that the second most valued option was durability and it might not had huge difference between numbers of who valued stylish appearance and variety of colors. If such was the case, then the author’s suggestion is significantly weakened and we can not ignore the importance of the durability.

Lastly, does discontinuing use of Endure manufacturing process ensure increase in profits? Dura-Socks’ factory lines and equipment might be set to follow the Endure manufacturing process and it can cost vast amount of expenditure on getting new equipment and reconfiguring the manufacturing process. Such an abrupt cease of manufacturing process might lead to decrease in profits, especially in a short-term period.

Therefore, the vice president’s argument is significantly flawed and need more evidence to support his or her idea. There should be a systematic approach on surveying the customers and more detailed data on its results should be provided. Also, alteration of the manufacturing process’s cost and profit have to be carefully calculated to simulate its effect. After these data and simulations are put together, then whether to stop the Endure manufacturing process will lead to increase in profits can be decided.