The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market — northeastern United States cities — say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument illustrates that the company can have more profit by stopping the endure manufacturing process. Because a recent study tells that the majority of a large market customers buy Dura-shocks for their style and myriad of colors. However, before reaching to this conclusion three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the survey mentioned here done systematically and scientifically? A survey is only acceptable if the survey done with proper measurements. What if the customer those participated in the survey came from a well off family whose yearly income is more than average of the country’s annual income. For them it is possible to buy shocks frequently, in this case every three months after. It is not that difficult for them to buy those items which are not basic needs of life regularly. On the other hand, a person whose yearly income less than the average income of the country may find this difficult to buy shocks every 3 weeks. So, in that case he has to calculate buying which shock is efficient for him or her. If a shock endure more time than surely he will attracted to the Dora-shocks.

Secondly, are the customers still interested in Dora-shock without its durability? Perchance a customers’ second preference is durability. In addition, customer may observe that the Dora-shock looks still colorful and good looking after 3 months of usage. Maybe discontinuing the endure manufacturing process can lose those customers. For example, a customer may buy shocks after 3 months only for change the look of the shock and maybe after further 3 months periods he wear that old shock which is still wearable for this durability. If a customer observe that the shocks tear up or discolor earlier than he may buy another brand shocks next time. This may hamper the company’s profit and the brand value also.

Thirdly, another flaw of the argument is the survey held in urban areas. What portion of the customers are from city. If the majority of the customers are form rural area than the conclusion that argument states become valueless. If this the case then eliminating endure manufacturing process may seriously hamper the companys’ revenue.

This argument is somewhat flawed by some manner. Before reaching this conclusion the author must answer these three questions properly with pure data and scientific method. If the author can answer these questions properly then we can reach the conclusion that the argument stated.