In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Some of the countries, the students graduated from high schools are suggested to do some practical works and explore the world for a year before admitting to the university. In this case, there are some positive and negative sides equally, that depends on the family and financial condition of that person.

First of all, considering the benefits of this kind of situation, it helps a recently graduated student who is about to enter his professional life to explore the real world because nothing is more effective than work and explore the real world with own eyes. We all know that, university is the entrance gate to the professional life where people started to take some responsibility on their own. When a high school graduate abruptly enters to the university, sometime he or she finds it very hard to cope up with the world, because until that point of life he or she did not experienced some hardship at all. By working some small works which requires less skills can help them to prepare for taking some responsibilities. In addition, university is the place where people come from different places and cultures and to cope with these cultures sometime feels very hard. By travelling some places with different cultures people can get familiarized with different people which can be very useful for university life.

While considering the down side of this kind of scenario, people from poor financial condition may suffer in future and sometime it almost impossible for them to travel some places for their financial hardships. It sometime cause some suffer to the well off families also, time is money and in student life it is often more valuable. Every student should have the intention to complete their student life as early as possible for the sake of entering professional life earlier and this also applies for the lower financial condition people too. Although working after high school for lower middle class people help them to support their family temporarily, but this elongates their student life and make their real professional life far.

To elucidate this, although travelling or working for a year may have some positive sides however it can also fell their career in danger sometimes, specially the students with low family support. So, this kind of decision after high school graduation should be taken cautiously.