In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people adhere to the idea that beginners are lucky and may have find a propitious breakthrough or ingenious answer to difficult problems. However, I mostly disagree with the idea that beginner is more likely to come up with major contributions than expert in most of the fields of study. I will support my argument with two reasons.

First of all, solid background of knowledge and years of experience are necessarily required to any kinds of field. In other words, without knowing the basics and low-level concepts or without having enough experiences in the field, it is difficult to advance and develop the status-quo to a new level. For instance, many renown professors create major and significant contributions to the academia more often as they age. Comparing masters to Ph.D. students, Ph.D. students come up with more contributions. Assistant professors write more significant papers then Ph.D. students. More experienced professors contribute to the academia by the most important contributions which effects hugely to the field. This can be witnessed by the numbers of publications and numbers of citation of those papers gradually increases to most of the people in academia.

Second of all, in order to make important contributions to a field, a person must have perseverance and zealousness. Any person whether he or she is a novice or an expert, have to focus and devote their time and energy completely on the subject to bring a new solution or idea. Although a beginner can be hugely interested on the field, the person must continue to spend efforts and have interest in the field to solve a problem which eventually makes the man or women become an expert of the field. For instance, to figure out what is a radioactive matter, Marie Curie boiled hundreds types of rocks for days without sleeping. She tried to find out the radioactive material by empirically going through hundreds of materials and eventually discovered Radon. This goes by same with Edison, who tried numerous kinds of materials to find the appropriate material to use as a filament to lighten up the light bulb. As he said, major breakthrough is composed of 99% of sweat (effort) and 1% of ingeniousity.

To conclude, beginners might have a different point of view and present a brilliant idea where existing people could not have thought of. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that to increase the chance of making important contributions, a sturdy background and perseverance to keep studying about the field is required more than other factors. Indeed, the society and academia is developed by persistent, hard-working scholars who spend and sacrifice their life to the field.