Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Evaluating students of their overall learning is very difficult to measure. The author advocates the idea that rather than assessing by how they ingrained the facts correctly, ability to use the facts and explaining the concepts and ideas based on the fact should be measured. In my opinion I mostly agree with the recommendation the author proposes for two reasons.

Probably the best way to asess a student objectively is using a quantitative-based method. Questions with four or five choices for the answer is what we mostly encounter in our school days examinations. Indeed, it is a efficient way for checking on how the students remember the fact or how well he or she can separate fake and authentic answers. Yet, this has many holes and weaknesses in evaluating a student. Fact itself can be memorized breifly and crampingly before the test. Admittantly there are students who do not understand the contents and background of a fact, but rather memorize it like a camera taking a picture. This rasises a question on whether the student understands comprehensively about the test question's contents.

As much as having a basic fact as a knowledge is important, but also expressing it and utilizing it to others is necessary as well. Indeed, in society we come against many situations where we have to talk, persuade and explain what we know to others like, perhaps, your seniors or colleagues. Suppose you have to give a speech or seminar to your co-workers. You might be very well informed about the topic, but if you don't have the capabilities to deliver it to others, there will be a low chance that you'll get a good evaluation. Students should have to prepare for these situations in the future and educators should take this into account accordingly.

In sum, assessing materials covered in a class can be nicely done by checking whether the students knows the fact or not. However, I think it is as much important to find out if the student can appropriately utilize the facts and help others acknowledging it. In near future, when they finish school and go to their workplaces, it is highly likable that they will be tested whether they can deliver efficiently what they know to others rather than being tested how much they know about the topic itself.