Watching a performance in person is preferable to viewing it on television.

Some people prefer to view performances on their comfortable couch in their living room. They cite that they can enjoy the performance more privately and can save energy without having to go outside. However, I disagree to these people and prefer watching performance with my own eyes in the reality rather than viewing in through television. I will support my viewpoint with the following two reasons.

First of all, the quality of the audio is significantly different. Watching and listening with my own eyes and ears in person has much strong clarity and perceptiveness. Although these days’ technologies had developed and broadcasts such high-quality, pristine videos, it can’t be compared to the live show itself. For example, I went to a famous Korean women diva, Jo Soo Mi’s concert once. She was very famous for singing as a soprano singer in the orchestra. On the live concert, I could hear her high pitch voice which I couldn’t hear through the TV. I could feel the voice through my skin which made goosebumps. Personally, I think that no matter how high you set the volume on the TV or no matter what good speakers you use, the sound can’t compete with the live voice. Thus, this kind of gap between the experiences leads me to going to performances in the reality.

Second of all, I can feel the atmosphere and get along with the crowds and the performer. Audiences express many different kinds of reactions, silence due to complete awe or extreme applause like standing ovation. I can participate with these people, sometimes clapping, yelling, and making whispers. Albeit it is possible to show these expressions alone at home, creating bonds with other people isn’t viable. For example, I once participated in a local festival hosting one of the most famous artist, Psy. He was notorious for his concerts for not sending audiences home until dawn. Thousands of local residents came to see his show, and as his reputation, his expression of energy and prowess controlling audiences was formidable. Audiences jumped and danced as he guided and we all became together. Never have participating in such exciting concert before, this unforgettable experience brought a huge shock to me and thought me how fun it is to go to live concerts.

All in all, whether watching performances in one’s home or going to the live place can be controversial depending on each person. Some might prefer enjoying performances on a quiet place. However, I personally believe that it is much beneficial to be in the place directly rather than watching it through other mediums. It has better quality overall, and I can feel and join the atmosphere in the reality.