The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of movie-rental cooperation, wrote an argument saying that to increase profits, stores should reduce operating expenses by removing outdated movies and reducing operating hours. He mentions that the practice of those policies have not brought much complaints from the customers. However, before properly evaluating his claim, three questions have to be answered.

First of all, although Marston store may have reduced its operating costs, there are no evidence if it has earned more profit. The owner says that they received only few of customer complaints, but did not give any proof saying that the profits of the store improved. It could be that the store lost customers and the profits decreased. Even if the store improved earning profits in the short-term, customers can turn away gradually and lead to loss of profit in the long-term. For the author to strengthen his point, more substantiative data about profits should be provided regarding the downtown Marston store.

Second of all, is it safe to say that the Marston’s practice can be simply applied to stores in other places? Every store is located in different places with variety of users varying from their incomes, habits, and preferences. For example, Marston store might be located in downtown, surrounded by office buildings where many workers(commuters) disappear after working hours. During the day, the town can be crowded, but at the evening, the town can turn into a quiet place with few people. This could mean that shortening the opened hours did not affect the Marston store significantly, without loosing users or profits. However, other stores’ situation might be different if they are located in residual areas where people want to rent videos at night after they come home. To bolster the owner’s suggestion, more data about each store and the effects of changing closing hours must be assessed carefully on each of them.

Third of all, did the chain provide sufficient methods to receive voice of customers? Marston’s change of policy might have disappointed customers but they might have not expressed their dissatisfaction to the company. There can be some customers who simply do not want to express their opinions because of their personality or due to lack of time. Therefore, to strengthen the author’s idea, a proper survey regarding the policy change and its satisfaction must be conducted.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the memorandum’s suggestion is seriously flawed and need some extra research and data to prove its validity. The chain should conduct survey on customers to see if the policy change will be viable and carefully consider the stores which could adopt the policy. After changing policies will not affect customers’ satisfaction levels and their will to visit is found out, then they can adopt those policy considering to improve profits.