The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a local newspaper a person wrote to the editor claiming that Parson City values providing good education in public schools more than the Blue City does. The author presents that the proportion of tax revenues and its absolute cost spent on public schools differs by scale of two between the Parson City and the Blue City. However, in order to properly evaluate this suggestion, there are three questions to be answered beforehand.

First of all, more details about how many students does budgets cover must be provided to compare between both cities’ schools. For instance, albeit double budgets being spent on Parson City school, it might have twice more students than the Blue City. If such is the case, then it is likely that the Blue City can utilize the same amount of budget per student compared to the Parson City. If Parson city and Blue city schools have similar number of students, then the author’s suggestion might hold water.

Second of all, further details regarding the status of each school must be illustrated. The schools’ environment, such as the difference in facilities, faculties can completely change how the budgets need to be spent. For example, Parson city school might be much older than the Blue city since being established. The facilities and buildings might need lots of maintenance and repair which can cost large amount of budget. Another possibility is that the Parson City public school has much more faculties than the blue city, which requires huge amount of money for their payroll. If such cases are true, than it is more justifiable to say that Parson City needs more budget. Meanwhile, the quality of education being provided to both schools might not differ as much as its budgets.

Lastly, simply spending more money might not necessarily connect to the conclusion that residents value more on good education. There are other factors which can effect the quality of education being provided except money. The parents can focus on the education being provided to their children by paying much attention themselves. For example, some parents can zealously participate in parent volunteering events like tutoring and supplement classes. If the author wants to justify the claim, he or she should provide objective data showing that more budgets led to better education by some kind of results like grades or students’ satisfaction.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably lacking its viability because of unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence for the claim, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the logical soundness of the proposed claim that Parson City residents values providing good education in public schools than the Blue City residents.