It is sometimes acceptable to infringe upon people’s freedom

Most people admit the importance of freedom and prioritize its value. To some, they argue that freedom should be protected in any circumstances because it is fundamental and essential. However, in my opinion, I disagree with these people and believe that freedom can be curbed in some particular cases. I will support my viewpoint with the following two reasons.

First of all, one’s freedom can endanger other people at risk in some cases. As freedom is important to one, it is as important to others as well. I think one’s freedom should not be pursued when it damages crucial things such as others' safety or life. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, we experienced many contaminated people infecting others whether they did it intentionally or accidently. This problem becomes severe when they behave irresponsibly while utilizing their freedom. While the disease control rigorously tried to stop the virus from spreading by segregating infected people, some did not follow the rules and let the virus spread out. Thus, to protect the safety of the general people, individuals’ freedom must be limited in some situations.

Second of all, there are other things to be valued as much as freedom depending on the nation’s particular status. We live in diverse places where each place has different conditions to abide by. For example, in South Korea, every citizen who is a male has to finish their mandatory military service. This is because the country is in the respite of the Korean war between North Korea. Since the war has not been officially ended, there are remaining threats and conflicts between the nations. Every man is infringed upon their freedom and impelled in the military for almost two years to protect their country. If this was not mandatory, the nation’s military powers will be significantly weakened and thus lead to an increase in the vulnerability of citizens.

To conclude, the issue of whether one’s freedom can be inhibited in some circumstances is complex. Some believe that freedom must be protected in any chances. However, I still contend that freedom can be limited in particular cases. To protect others and the community or the nation, one’s freedom can be controlled.