The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the prompt, the concerning issue is the declining profits of Movies Galore's store. The speaker of the passage above states that, by reducing operating expenses the store would be able to manage the profit margins. As an evidence to the statement he claims the new policies implemented at the downtown Marston store. This is a poorly reasoned argument and It fails to be convincing, here are the reasons why -

To begin with, let us understand the situation of Marston store. The store reduces its working hours and clears out a specific part of its stock. Was it profitable for the store? Was there a increase in number of customers? Were there positive feedbacks about the new changes? Nothing more than the fact that 'there were only few complaints' was provided to us. So forming an argument that all other stores should follow Marston with out any statistical evidence to support it questionable.

Even if we discuss the methods undertaken by Marston store regarding the reduced open hours or stock elimination, the factors affecting such factors for each store are dynamic. For example, in a major cosmopolitan people would prefer a 24*7 services compared to countryside regions were streets die down way earlier. About eliminating DVDs released more than a year ago, it solely goes with the line of reasoning that what people in the locality would prefer. Reducing operating expenses could be substantially prove to be a solution but we could no overlook the fact that it has no fairly reasoned argument to buttress it.

At the beginning of the prompt, the speaker mention how raising prices would not be a good option. Could be it that the discounts provided by Movie Galore's has a significant effect behind it's plummeting profits? Even if they are famous for comparatively less prices, if such schemes are bringing harm to their economy - Movies Galore should consider raising prices accordingly.

To sum it up, Movies Galore could form better solution for the situation, the solution should be based on statistics, analytics and should be dynamic considering that the factor affecting profit, sale and product preferences changes with location and type of locality.