The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given prompt suggest the memo that - if Climpson industries regulate usage of internet in its premises, they can generate greater profit margins. It is based on the assumption that implementing restrictions will lead to higher productivity levels and provide better work ethics. While analyzing the suggestions by Vice President of human resources, we need to keep in check that there are various aspects to this situation.

To begin with, what is stress level the staff of Climpson deals with everyday? In many new emerging and improvised work ethics, there is minimal concentration on working style rather more emphasis is on the output. It is observed that mundane and boring work cycle can lead to lesser innovation and quality output, even after ensuring a follow up of every checklist of staff rule. So, could the new suggestion have a reverse effect on Climpsons and result in lesser overall profits?

Second concerning point being- there was no data provided regarding the fact that at what degree are the people in Climpson using internet for recreational purposes. There could be a scenario, where there has been an observed misuse of the internet facilities provided by Climpson. In such a phase, the memorandum provided by the Vice President is applicable. As mentioned above, yes - recreation is important for better outcomes but there should be a maintained proportion between work done and recreation needed.

Next point is the attitude of those working in Climpson towards the new rule. Could they feel it is restricting ? There is no mention of the fact that a feedback from employees should be conducted before implementation. Maintaining the moral and trust level relationship between employers and employees is very important of any company. it could be a fact that the latest addition to Climpson employee rulebook could generate a wave of negative responses, and this rather than improving could definitely impede profit levels.

The entire argument was based on assumption and no solid reasoning was provided. While it is important to know both sides of a situation before summing up. No evidence relating recreational use of internet vs company's profit was provided. as stated above, recreation could be beneficial or hinderance based on the situation, which wasn't present in the given statements. so to sum it up, more information, statistics and analytics would be needed to take steps further in this direction.