Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

According to the given prompt - ruling governments should tend to have some form of control over the scientific research and developments in their respective nations. I partially agree with the given issue and following are the reasons for my inclination towards the issue.

To begin with, a new science research could be the greatest asset or the most lethal weapon for human kind. Let's take in example of the discovery of atomic energy - the potentially greatest source of energy resulted in development of the destructive atomic bombs know to us, ever. This is one strong evidence as to why the governments must have some form of regulations on developments. While it is important for us to investigate further into the depths of science, we also have to ensure that these depths shouldn't lead us towards our own end.

The second reason, scientific research in many records have tend to differ from morality or have turned into a dangerous experiment. To support this, the ban on further developments of human cloning is the most pertinent example. While human cloning supporters claim that they were a mere result of scientific lab products, they forgot to note the point that they still had a form of life in them. 'Generating' human clones after digesting the fact that they would have lives and those lives would be short lived because of their genetic conditions made enough reason for governments around the world to stop this research any further. By regulating many such research, the governments could ensure that no life or property is hurt in the name of science.

Even after the aforementioned two very strong reasons, the purpose I have mentioned 'partially agree' in the start of the essay is - science should be regulated by government to support humanity but not forced to be used against humanity. A government is nothing but an organization, and sadly not every time they would have the best interest of humankind as their priority. Many countries have special attention to development of weapons as their prime interest to attain more power across borders.

The next cause of partially agreeing with regulations could be easily explained with the buttress of Renaissance period in Europe. Too much interference from ruling kingdoms and the hold of orthodox society made it nearly impossible for scientific liberation in those periods.

Scientific research and development is not a simple black and white topic but comes with its own shades of grey. The governments should have hold on it but still allow the liberty needed to explore. In the end it all sums up to the point that, how the development is supposed to be used and in what aspects it should be regulated.