The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Let's start our approach towards the given prompt with a best suited example - a student is trying to learn a new foreign language. The educator tends to avoid constantly pin pointing the student for the flaws in his accent and, continues to praise him for his effort. What according to you, could be the final performance at the end of the language classes? Would the student might come out of he institute with not so proper knowledge? or maybe the student motivated by the educator, would take extra efforts and try on fixing the loopholes in his knowledge on his own.

The given prompt states that the most pertinent way to teach anyone is to keep them highly motivated with constant praises, while tending to overlook any negative points in their work. We have observed in the example above that agreement to this statement could be relative. Lets get back to our example and understand the dynamics of the situation - could continuous praises lead to incomplete development? Human in times seems to focus more on their strengths rather than their weaknesses. For an overall development it is important to know where one is lacking. Though constant criticism could be discouraging, positive and constructive approach towards healthy suggestions is a must for growth and development. So, as an educator, employer or a parent it is important to bring to notice the points for improvements when needed. "All sunshine makes deserts", similarly all sweet words might destroy the chances of betterment in personality or work.

Now, we would be considering the second situation - could constant praising keep the student motivated enough to perform without the pressure? The answer to this question changes with each person. While each person and personality are different a single word can have different impacts. Human nature and brain works in mysterious ways. Constant criticism might discourage someone's chances of trying. Well said that a pen is mightier than a sword, words could be even more lethal. So, it is important to know how the person is grasping comments about their negative actions or shortcomings.

To sum it up, agreement or disagreement towards the prompt is a very person 'person' specific answer. It changes with the person, relationship with the person addressing, the situation, the time, the words and what not. While teaching someone should not always be sweet words of praises it is also important to bring to a notice about their negative actions in constructive way.