Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Before we dive into the topic, let us understand the fact that we are talking about college students. Many students opting for this level of study in my country are generally above or around the age of 18. We need to keep it mind that even constitution regards them as adults, capable of making their decisions.

The claim here suggests removal of all elective courses. In short it curtails the flexibility and plans on introducing rigidity in education system for them. To back this claim, it is reasoned as to help students in avoiding distractions or directions. I might disagree on some specific aspects in question here.

To begin with, dynamicity is need of education today. With change in work nature and culture, one can focus on two seemingly different courses which intersect at some point. Someone interested in computers and literature can select both these majors and find a place for oneself in NLP (Natural Language Processing) based jobs or research. Introduction of all pre-decided courses for students today may not be the best decision. In the era were technology, creativity and education are moving together - this might be a step back.

Secondly, if we discuss the reason- in the beginning we have already discussed that the average age of students in concern here. Don't you think that if one is capable to vote, one might be mature enough to decide his or her courses? Also, what stated as 'directions' could be the latest trend in the market as well.

Even if the reason still stands true, there could be changes in the claim made. Instead of eliminating optional courses, the courses can be made more focused at one. In simple words, for someone opting both literature and computers, will have to be inclined more towards either of them. Resulting in a graduate of literature with extra knowledge of coding or vice a versa but not someone with incomplete degree in both the mentioned domains.

In order to introduce improvements, one might expect some degrees of strictness but the pair of claim and reason presented here couldn't be agreed completely. Amending the claim and updating the reason with more facts, analytics and insights would be needed to come up with a plan beneficial to all.