In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city 039 s flagging economy Dillton 039 s city council voted last year to lower the city 039 s corporate tax rate by 15 percent at the same time the city began offering generous relocation

In the provided argument , Dillton city tried to implement two schemes - reduced corporate tax and relocation grants to attract more factories into Dillton. However the situation hasn't taken any positive toll and the unemployment rate still remains the same . According to authors assumption this might be due to the fact that the newly employed factory members reside outside the town and could have been shifted here after their employment into the city.

This could be a fit conclusion for the situation, the author has considered the fact even after introducing almost 1000 new job opportunities if there are no improvements in the poor employment rate. It could surely be one of major reason but we need to understand that employment rate in any surrounding is a dynamic factor. factors affecting it keep on changing.

One possible example of this could be within the period of establishment of companies and recruitment process, many new people were added into the list of unemployed people - neutralizing the effect. Second considerable fact could be the quality of man power provided by the town to these companies. If the residents of the town lack on experience or technical requirements needed for the job. There is no mention of the fact that after these companies were located in Dillton, it hadn't had any adverse effect on local businesses. increase in number of retired citizens and children could also be one of the reason.

One solution to this languid economy and unemployment could be: Legal agreement with respective companies or factories regarding fixed recruitment percentage for local residents. Concession for companies with greater native employs. Training campaigns for soft skills or technical requirements for upcoming companies employability criteria. Supporting local entrepreneurs and existing businesses.

To sum it up the author has a reasonable approach to the situation and an agreeable conclusion but there are some aspects to the situation which he/she could have not considered.