In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given memo suggests - it is always better to discuss any idea or suggestion with people who have opposite outlook for the given scenario, in comparison to your vision. The above pretext could be best explained using the proverb, two sides of a coin.

The first side of the coin, it is the situations where I would agree with the speaker's prompt. For any thought or idea that occupies your thinking for a longer duration, it gets the ability to cloud your decisions regarding other opposing possibilities. Your process of analyzing, might tend to ignore any shortcomings. This could be well explained with an example- do you remember when you work on a essay for too long? While continuously working on it we are so immersed into it that we ignore silly mistakes. And what happens when we read the same essay after a period of time? The exactly same essay which seemed perfect once, is now a bundle of grammatical errors or improper sentences. So, what could have been done to ensure the 'perfect' essay?

Referring the essay to another eye to read, and requesting them to find out the errors could have helped the situation, right? Refer the same example of essay in any thought process or upcoming idea, and you could see the prompts view on how having contrasting view could prove to be beneficial. As very well said- oppositions leads to a 'bullet proof' solution.

The another side of the prompt includes situations where contrasting views aren't constructive. Excess opposition could lead to discouragement. The tendency to follow the 'flow of the river' could result in neglecting tangential views. Alas, they might drown in the flow as well. Let's continue the very same example above. What if the third eye has a fixed view of the opinion and is determined to overlook any good points you have made? Even some of the excellent points could be expunged out because of it.

To sum it up, greatest of the scientist, authors etc. have emerged out as the best of their eras, while swimming into a sea of contrasting opinions. One should take every criticism as a suggestion and work to shape things better. Not letting negative opinions discourage you. Points of views are supposed to be difference and difference in views is an evidence to the fact that work is being done in the right direction. So, it is important to discuss views with contrasting people while standing grounds for your opinion and correcting yourself whenever needed.