“Davis Technologies, a computer-chip maker, could solve its problem of declining sales by dropping its prices. This would make Davis better able to compete in the highly competitive computer chip market. The sales of chips would increase and this would substantially boost Davis’ market share.”

Describe how well the reasoning is in this. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counter examples might weaken the argument’s conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound and would help you to better evaluate its conclusion.

It is stated in the given prompt that Davis Technology were facing declining sales. To boost these dropped figures, they reduced the prices of their computer chips. The decision was taken for mainly three reasons - to keep up with the competitive market of computer chips; increase sales; boost market shares for Davis Technology. The statement is a plethora of unwarranted assumptions and there is the reasons why:

Firstly, there is no evidence for the fact that the dropping sales are resulted due to high prices of computer chips. There are many factors related to quality and price with availability of latest technologies that affect the sales of computer chips. The market for dynamic products like computer chips are never related to only a single factor, rather a combination of technical and economical factors altogether that decides the sales pattern. So, there is no fallacy for the fact that dropping prices would increase sales.

The second important point that, the company intends to keep up with the market of computer sales has no argument to buttress it. With no information of market trends it is difficult to accept that only dropping prices would help them substantiate the competitive market. Since both of the points mentioned above are based on mere assumptions, the claim to boost market shares for Davis Technology after their decision to drop prices would also be considered as a vague conclusion.

Another important point which is missing in the given argument is the required statistics to prove that even after dropping few prices on their product, Davis Technology would still be able to maintain their profit margin.

To sum up, the argument to drop prices could be a considerable point but without more information about the products quality, production cost, market trends, etc. it is difficult to accept any of the assumed benefits expected after it's implementation.