Davis Technologies, a computer-chip maker, could solve its problem of declining sales by dropping its prices. This would make Davis better able to compete in the highly competitive computer chip market. The sales of chips would increase and this would substantially boost Davis' market share.

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument\'s conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

Though the author"s recommendation may well have its merit, he presents a poorly reasoned argument. It fails to be convincing since it is based on a number of questionable assumptions and unsubstantiated facts.

The first major flaw in the argument is with regards to its unsubstantiated premises. Though the author tells us that the sale of the company is declining, it stops short of telling us as to why the sales dropped. We are not given any data regarding the general market trend for computer chips. If all the computer chips companies experienced a loss over the same period, then dropping the price would neither increase the sales of chips nor would it boost the market share for the company.

Secondly, the argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions. The author makes an unsupported assumption that the decline in sales is solely due to the price of the computer chips. He gives us no data concerning the current pricing of the computer chips. For example, if the product is already reasonably priced, then the reason for the decrease in sales lies elsewhere. Similarly, the general demand for computer chips might also be decreasing.

Finally, based on his unsubstantiated facts and weak premises, he makes his claim that if the company drops the price of the computer chips, it will make it better capable of competing in a highly competitive computer chip market. He makes an unwarranted assumption that, if the price drops, the sale of the chips will increase. Further, he claims that this will substantially boost the market share. The author seems to be completely in the dark about the nuances of consumer economics and the working of a marketplace. For example, there is no guarantee or any evidence in the argument that makes us believe that the reduction in price must result in an increase in sale. There are several factors like quality of the product, brand image, advertising, customer service etc that determine how well a product sells. Unless the author can prove that the company satisfies all of the above factors at a level equal to or better than its competitors, his argument is flawed. Further, he gives us no evidence about the current market scenario. There are several cases where the market is already saturated and plateaued and there is no further chance for a new player to increase its market share. By providing us with no data to underscore or refute such possibilities, he makes a rather weak claim.

In conclusion, since the author's claim is based on questionable premises and unsubstantiated facts, that are solely based on the evidence from the author, we cannot accept his line of reasoning as valid.