"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The famous baseball player Yogi Berra once said that "In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is ". Similarly, the idea of preaching co-operation as the best way to prepare the young generation for leadership roles across a spectrum of roles in Government, industry and so on, is at best idealistic which would look good in theory, but in reality, would serve to limit in exploiting the full potential of the young leaders of tomorrow.

If we look at the governments and industries of today, they are all characterized by cut-throat competition. There could be several senators from a political party, but only a few would be considered worthy to run for the President's office. This sort of odds of reaching the top is self-explanatory when it comes to why competitiveness is important. Similarly, in industry, there is competition across markets, products, human resources and so on. This is a day and age where companies acquire other companies for profit. In a world, where competition is as stiff as this, a lax attitude could cost the young generation dearly.

By asking the young people to cooperate, they are losing their competitive edge. They will end up being just one in the crowd and would be averse to fierce competition and leadership roles which are highly demanding. It may be exaggerating a bit, but, someone who is so used to being co-operative and not used to speaking his own words may turn a blind eye to any evil in his field of work. He is so used to and happy with being one of the crowd, he might never raise a voice of dissent. This is definitely not a trait of a leader in the making.

Most of the leadership programs these days focus on team building activities and leadership training. Even in job interviews, group activities play a paramount role in selecting its future employees. But, what is a common characteristic in all of these is what they look for in the candidate. Is it how well they cooperate with the team? This could be true. But one will stand out from the others by the initiatives he takes in the activity and how successful he is in making the group agree with his line of thought. All leadership training programs must be conceived and implemented this way to ensure success for its participants.

It is often said that leaders are born and not created. But what sets them apart from a follower? These are their unique personality traits and a desire to achieve greatness. And greatness comes from the desire to be the best. By asking these born leaders to co-operate and not show their full potential, we are asking them to be like blunt knives. Thus the leader in them ends up being buried six feet under even before being born.