People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The famous baseball player Yogi Berra once said, "In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is". Actors in movies, or heroes in archaic novels, who confess heroically that they followed their hearts surely wins a great fan following. But they, unlike in real life does not have to face consequences of the decisions that they make. History has proven this right innumerable times. However, we do not have to look back so much into the past to see how decisions, that are made purely put of knee jerk reflexes or to appease a temporary conflict has proven detrimental in the long run.

In contemporary international politics, we see how a Trump or a Merkel have made statements appealing directly to the emotions of their citizens. While Trump justified a travel ban on citizens from Muslim countries by an incredibly flawed logic that Islam preaches terrorism and that the people from Islamic countries are dangerous, Merkel went a step further in banning the illegal immigrants and refugees from the war stricken nations of Syria and Yemen, justifying her decision by portraying the refugee situation as a threat to the changing demographics of Germany.

There might be some substance to these actions taken by these leaders. However, even to the most common observer, it won't escape his notice, that the immediate motive of these decisions are rather personal, as Trump has always been an advocate of the anti-Islam movement and the America first movement. Hence, they defended their actions, which have purely made as a result of personal vendetta, by picturing at as doing a great good for the nation. If these are the kind of policy makers, who let emotions get the best of them while making crucial foreign policy decisions, then the nations are surely doomed.

Additionally, what is more upsetting is how successful these leaders were, in convincing a vast majority of their supporters regarding the necessity of their decisions and how, the people swallowed their bull and cock logic. This strengthens my view point that, when a nation, with its leaders and citizens, who are susceptible to emotions, become involved in decision making, they can go to any extent to defend their actions by giving the most absurd reasons as to why such an action might was taken.

But, we don't necessarily have to talk about international politics to put light on the argument. Just look at ourselves. Be it a new year resolution that we make, or a wish to diet or start exercising and how successfully we are able to put off ourselves from actually doing any of these by convincing ourselves with absolutely fool proof logic!

Unless we are all pragmatic and start making decisions wisely from our heart, with logic verifying our decisions and not being used to defend our actions, we must be ready to face the consequences of these actions - whatever they may be!