People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People have to make a lot of decisions in their lives from simple one that are present in our day-to-day life to more difficult ones, which might determine one's future life. In general, people have individual approaches to decision-making process: some can decide just at the drop of a hat while other would spend hours thinking over the issue and doubting which path to choose. The statement claims that those who make emotion-driven decisions trying to back them up with logic afterwards are a poor example effective people. I fully agree with this statement, since

First of all, while human emotions can be overwhelming at a particular moment, they are in fact temporary, which means one should not rely on them when making important decisions. Our emotions are basically reactions to the events happening in our life or to particular actions of people surrounding us. Representing our immediate perception of things, these reactions might have nothing to do with our general attitude towards a particular issue. For example, in the light of the recent speech given by a 16-years old Greta regarding global climate change, one could have been moved by the sincerity of her words, by her true passion and concern over the future of our planet and immediately make a donation to some charity fighting against climate change. At the same time, in everyday life the same person might be absolutely indifferent to the global issues or even argue that there are no real threats to the environment. This example demonstrates how one can make decisions based on the instant emotions and feelings provoked by external forces.

Secondly, decisions made without a prior logical considerations are more likely to be wrong or ineffective. A good decision have to have strong reasoning behind it, since it it crucial when communication the decision to other stakeholders who may question your choice unless it is supported by convincing argumentation. It is hardly possible to persuade someone that your decision is the best if you have only relied on your personal intuition or feelings. On the contrary, logic is something that can be interpreted in the same way by many people and thus help them to come to a common agreement.

One may argue that some decisions simply should not be made through a logical thinking. For example, one may consider choosing a soul mate and argue that one’s feeling towards the other person should be the only criterion when deciding whether to stay with that person or not. The more one would analyse good and bad sides of the other person, the more doubts may arise which could finally spoil one’s relationship which could have been quite perfect before.

Nevertheless, I believe some logical thinking will never do any harm in any decision making process, be it love affairs or choosing one’s major in a graduate school. The best approach would probably be starting with appropriate analysis of the situations and possible consequences of your decision and then making sure that the decision you are going to make is in line with your feelings and believes.