People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people have the tendency to make decisions in a hasty manner with little or no thought. These people make decisions based on emotion and justify their decision afterwards with some logic. If you take a look at what's happening in our daily lives, or even the world history for a matter of fact, most of the decisions taken by people or leaders worldwide out of emotion rather than thorough reasoning have proved to be fatal. Not only did they cause major financial losses but also human loss in many of the cases. I believe that such people are often poor decision makers and this can be justified.

Firstly, after many studies and experiments scientists have concluded that decisions always should be taken in a peace of mind, i.e we need to make sure that we are calm and stable before reacting or taking any decision. This is because when we are angry, sad or in any other emotion, our brain is not capable of thinking and reasoning properly. We think that what we are doing is correct because we are driven by intense emotions, and the decisions that we take in such a state of mind are usually very slapdash and have negative consequences. Consider Hitler for example. He had the notion that his race was superior than every other race. He wanted power and control and initiated the second world war out of emotion which destroyed the economies of several major nations and decimated and large chunk of the world population. He was responsible for the murders of thousands if not millions of jews and justified his decisions by claiming that they were an inferior race. However, today the world knows that the decision he took was absolutely unacceptable.

Consider another instance where the United states decided to start a war against Iraq. This decision by the president was purely out of emotion. The war against Iraq was one of the worst wars in US history. It causes a mammoth loss to the economy and thousands of American soldiers have died in the war. The president justified his decision by saying that it was a war against terrorism. However, now most of us realize that the situation could be dealt in a better manner and that his hasty and emotion driven decisons have caused consequences which we face till date.

Finally, in some cases it might be appropriate to take sudden decisions out of emotion. Canada for instance opened it's borders for millions of refugees from the war stricken countries out of the feeling of humanity. This was a sudden and emotion driven decision back thanks to it, these refugees have found a new and safe home. Even though in some cases it might be justifiable, I think the negatives outrule the poititives and hence, decisions taken out of emotion are poor deci