All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Oftenly, companies tend to hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. Though consultants are currently helping out companies to work in an efficient way and rectify problems which couldn't be solved by the comapny itself, I feel that due to the following reasons a company shouldn't be required to hire outside consultants.

First, the very reason why a company hires an employee is so that the employee can benefit the company in some or the other way. The employee should possess certain skills which could help solve the company's problems and help the company grow in an efficient way. This is usually the case because companies, especially software companies have a very rigorous interviewing system. Take the instance of Google, a candidate needs to clear several rounds of interviews in which his technical skills, social skills, leadership skills and many other core skills are tested before an employee is recruited. Several questions like "why should we hire you", "what benefit do you bring to the company" etc are asked. In such a case, why would the company even require the assistance of outside consultants if it's present employees itself are highly talented and avid problem solvers? It maybe could be a flaw in the company's hiring system. It maybe could be a flaw in the company's top level management. These problems need to be rectified first.

Furthermore, hiring of outside consultants has stimulated the never-ending cycle of offshoring talent. Many companies today, especially in the United States tend to hire consultants from outside the country such as India, China etc to additionaly help the company. They can hire these consultants for a cheap labor and get the job done. However, this has impacted the economy in a negative way and also has affected the local job market by reducing the number of jobs available to the local people. In addition, even though the company benefits from the cheap labor, if you look at the big picture it's actually spending more money than it should be spending. This is because every year the company hires a certain number of employees and if it can efficiently manage it's employees then the need to hire outside consultants is irradiated and hence the company would actually save much more money. This is a benefit not for just the company, but also for the local job market and the company's economy.

Finally, If a company is in the situation where it needs to hire outside consultants to make it operate more efficently then there surely is a flaw in the way it manages it's employees. A company should spend more time listening to it's employees. Maybe there are problems which are inhibiting the employees from working to their zenith potentials. Maybe there is a problem in the company's work culture and employees are not getting job satisfaction. These pronlems need to be addressed by the upper level management by working with employees directly. In addition, the employees should be trained with the latest technology and skills needed for the company to foster. If the present employees itself are effectively managed to operate the company in an effcient way, why wpuld there be a need to hire outside consultants in the first place?