Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Winston Churchill once said, "it is not the size of the dog in the fight, it is the size of the fight in the dog." Thus, while one can claim that with age comes wisdom, in a world characterized by cut-throat competition, an employer should aim to get the most out of its employees by compensating them mainly on the basis of their work performance and merit.

For example, let us compare two distinct work situations in a country like India. On one hand, we have Government jobs where the promotion and raises are commensurate with the number of years of service of the employee. This leads to complacency. Employees in such institutions know that they will be paid their monthly salary no matter how poorly they perform. They come to work late, behave leisurely and cause great inconvenience to the public. Seldom do these employees realize that the salaries that they draw come from the tax payer's income.

Further, since promotions are based on seniority, the employees become recalcitrant and show tendencies to disobey their superior officers. Additionally, retaining and providing benefits to an employee solely because they have been working for the same institution for a longer time might even result in some form of hierarchy. This kind of framework could go on to hamper effective teamwork and attenuate the performance of the organization in the long run.

On the other hand, there are several private enterprises that value talent more and for whom 'age is just a number'. They value individuals who can deliver. And, by rewarding this talent, they can ensure that their human resource stays motivated. The prospect of getting a big bonus or a raise or a promotion for a job well done goes a long way in ensuring employee satisfaction.

In fact, if we go by statistics from employment based websites like 'Glassdoor', some of the companies, that have been ranked the best to work with, are also those which recognize and encourage talent and reward this talent by faster promotions, relocation to foreign countries, frequent business trips and bonuses. These kinds of rewards also ensure employee fidelity as they will be motivated to work assiduously and contribute to an organization that they feel truly value them.

In conclusion, while it goes without saying that, senior employees do bring a certain value to an Organization - be it through their acumen, years of experience and familiarity with the company, the younger employees bring in freshness and uniqueness to an existing framework and prevent it from going stale and outdated. Hence, companies must strive to achieve the right balance by ensuring that they increase productivity by rewarding merit and performance and not just by rewarding seniority.