Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

An organisation's productivity or the outcome mainly depends on the workforce and the amount of work done by the employees and each and everyone's contribution to the company's growth. Hence, in this aspect the age or the period of work of the employee in the organisation does not mater but the efficiency of the employee only matters.

Promoting a employee to a higher post should be done by his/her work not on the basis of his age or work experience as for an instance, a employee who has worked in an organisation for more amount of years but has less contribution to the organisation cannot be given an raise just for his work experience as the amount of contribution would stay the same from him/her, whereas , on the contrary, if an employee who has an less amount of work experience but has contributed in large amount for the organisation's growth should definitely been given a raise as it would encourage him/her for a higher productivity.

Considering the seniority of an employee it would definitely make the senior employee feel a bit uneasy to work under an person who is inferior to him/her in the case of years of service, but considering this fact would no way help in the growth of productivity of the company, and all the employees must be mentally prepared to face any kind of situation at their work place before taking the job.

On the contrary, if a employee has an upper hand over another with respect to both seniority and the productivity then he/she must be given the first preference, but , still the productivity of the employee plays the major role.

Hence, an employee must be given a raise on basis of their performance or on basis of both performance and seniority, but, not on the basis of seniority alone.