"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The Internet advertising company claims that their internet services were the reason for the increase in sale of the furniture depot by 10% over previous year's total. This claim of the internet company is not convincing and flawed because of a lack of evidence, weak assumption, and vague language. Some of the flaws are as follows.

To begin with the internet company fails to clarify the other promotional strategies used by the furniture company other than their advertisement. For example, the furniture company could have also put up any advertisements in the classifieds or they could have even advertised their product in any television channel or through any banners or posters other than the advertisement put up by the internet company.

Additionally, when the internet company claims that the increase of sales of the furniture company by 10% is only because of them, it is not supported by any proper evidence. For example, as per the situation mentioned above the 10% profit could have been due to the combined output of all the advertising strategies used by the furniture company, so there is no point in the internet company claiming it to be the only reason for the increase in sales of the furniture company.

Finally, the advertising company claims that the furniture company had witnessed the increase in their sales due to the help provided by them to the furniture company. This statement is totally flawed as the furniture company would have used the services provided by them in turn of some payment of money, so it is pointless for the company to claim that it had helped the furniture company to increase their profit.

To strengthen their statement the internet company could have conducted some surveys among the consumers as to know through what medium did they get to know about the furniture company, the numbers or the result of the survey would have been more than enough to prove their stand.

In conclusion the internet company has presented a interesting but flawed argument. Had they presented the above mentioned data the argument would have been convincing hence I remain unconvinced with the internet company's statement.