Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

I agree to the point that employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their

work performance.

A lot of people face the problem in their respective working places with the seniority. According to

me, every one should be graded and placed based on their knowledge and their earlier

experience. In this way the organization in which they are working can see the growth that they are

expecting. The people with past good experience can share their good knowledge with their fellow

members working in the same organization and the people with the past bad experiences can share

the right path to be taken and they can give good suggestions to their fellow members who are

going through the same situations like them. On the other side there are less chances that the

people with less experience can succeed in their life. They may not be able to uplift the organization

with their work.

The fair way to give salary is solely based on the work performance. The salaries should be given

according to their work performance. And with the work performance and continuation in the same

field for long time gives the seniority.

Most of the companies which are hiring the people today, look for the earlier work experience that

they have. When compared to fresher and having experience candidates they would always go for

the experienced candidates because they can use their experience in the present company and

they can also be benefited with their productiveness.

The seniority and the work experience of an individual can bring the highest productivity to their

organization.