Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Productivity of a certain company or institution often depends on the efficiency of the employees and their work ethics. It depends on the conviction with which a work is done and therefore, I totally agree with the prompt that the workers should be promoted and given raises based on their performance instead of their experience.

Years of service are a major criteria for many companies to determine the diligence and fidelity of an employee towards his or her company. But it does not necessarily invite a healthy competition for the interns who have recently joined the company and are working hard with same commitment and enthusiasm fetching fruitful results. For instance, there are many companies that have faced the hostility and animosity in the attitudes of the newly joined trainees towards their bosses due to not getting a decent pay even though they have worked day and night to achieve unprecedented results and profits for the company. Their credit is preemptively taken by a bombastic, domineering boss who has more experience than his coworkers.

This type of competitive hussle is deteriorating for the company's work culture and instigates prejudices between the employees. Collaborative cooperation gets hindered by jealousy and envy often giving rise to incompatibility in the teamwork and unfulfilling of the targets assigned.

A recent survey has shown that more than 60% of the companies in USA and China bias their pay schemes depending on the number of years an employee has served. Due to this, there has been a decline in the recruitment of young representatives in major MNCs and also created a liable loss for the company's asset which the new interns with extraordinary merit bring with them.

Performance and work should be a major criteria to judge a person's potential and his skills. No matter how experienced a person is, if he or she is not efficient enough in fulfilling his or her duties or targets and still gets a promotion due to the time period of his service, may lead to subversion in the company's milieu. Also it may create a negative reinforcements for the hardworking employees who work assiduously in bringing positive outcomes for their country.

Although it is expected by the company officials and recruiters that an employee should be stoical when it comes to the amount of money he or she is paid based on his work efficacy, it affects the employee and the company to a greater extent which cannot be ignored by turning a blind eye. Therefore, the merit of an employee should always be a vital criteria for increase in pay levels as it motivates more workers to achieve greater targets and make their company reach to the apostasy of culmination.